And now back to our regularly scheduled programming

It’s the last day of November which means today is the final day of BlogHer’s National Blog Posting Month (NaBloPoMo).

For that, I am thankful.

As much as I have enjoyed the challenge of posting every day, it’s a relief to know I don’t have to think of a topic for tomorrow, type it up while Philip alternates between crawling over me and pulling me away from my laptop to draw with him and then hurriedly proofread multiple drafts of the post as I rush to hit “Publish” before midnight.

I’m thankful that I linked up with other bloggers over at Yeah Write. It would have been one thing to post every day on my own blog. It was another to visit my rowmies (the four bloggers with whom I shared a row on the grid) each day. I also tried to read the posts of my columnites (same idea only vertical) and then randomly hop around the grid to discover blogs I might never have encountered otherwise. I’ve found some new blogs to follow this way and had many new visitors to my blog in return.

I’m glad that I chose to focus on thankfulness in these thirty posts. This post in particular sums of the benefits of writing about thankfulness. It sparked quite a response, and I enjoyed reading all of the comments even if I did not get to reply to each one.

I’m thankful that I had the opportunity to share stories that I ordinarily would not post on my blog. I got to write about things completely unrelated to autism and parenthood. I think many of those posts could have been improved upon without the constraints of needing to get something, anything published before the end of the day. On the other hand, branching out into other topics forced me to write more carefully since I couldn’t just link back to an older post to provide background info.

That being said, I’ve missed my regular, old blogging routine. I’m looking forward to getting back to what I do on my blog: sharing stories and pictures of Philip.

And while I’ve been motivated by the new community of writers that I found via Yeah Write, I’ve felt like I lost touch with my virtual support group of autism parents and autistic self-advocates. There just weren’t enough hours in the day to read all of the posts from my favorite bloggers let alone write comments of support or click through to other stories that they recommended.

I feel like today is the last day of summer camp. I’m sad that I won’t be able to go swimming or roast marshmallows anymore. I’m disappointed that I’m leaving behind those fun activities that you only get to do at camp. I’m heartbroken to be saying farewell to newly made chums.

At the same time, I’m looking forward to sleeping in my own bed, shedding the strictures of the camp schedule, seeing my friends and returning to the comfort of familiar routines.

So long, Camp NaBloPoMo. I’m going home.

4 thoughts on “And now back to our regularly scheduled programming

  1. I liked your idea of bookmarking the Yeah Write grid – I’m going to do the same because I didn’t get around to blogs other than my rowmies as much as I wanted to. I do feel the same way as you in terms of losing touch with others and I didn’t like that. I’d rather post a little less often (like 3-5 times a week) and have time to read more of the blogs I follow.

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

