Philip and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Hair Day

Philip had a bad hair day.

When I finally got him awake this morning, I saw that his hair was sticking up in several places. As a four-year-old boy, he really doesn’t care about such things. I probably wouldn’t have worried about it much myself if he was going to stay home all day. However, he was heading back to school for the first time in over a week. He missed the two days before Thanksgiving break last week due to a cold and there was no school on Monday.

The extended absence wasn’t the real reason why I got his brush wet and tried to coax his hair in a more flattering style. No, I was trying to get Philip more photogenic since, instead of going to work on a college campus, I would be spending most of my day with Philip at his preschool. And of course, I planned on taking pictures.

Honestly, Philip’s hair was the only thing bad about today. I’m thankful I had the opportunity to see all of the progress that Philip has made since he started preschool last November.

I witnessed Philip following many of the classroom routines independently. He participated in circle time instead of leaving for the motor room. He worked and played with minimal supervision. There were fewer tears brought on by frustration and sensory overload. In fact, he had a huge smile on his face during music time. “I don’t think that smile could get any bigger,” remarked his teacher.

I think she meant Philip, but the same could have been said of me.

Yeah, the hair is bad but it’s all good

Even though it was a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad hair day for Philip, everything else about it was pretty good. Perfect pictures would never do justice to all of the great stuff that happened today.

I’m still smiling.

4 thoughts on “Philip and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Hair Day

What do you have to say about that?

