Thanks x 7

Seven years ago, on the day before Thanksgiving, I packed up my car with my clothes and a few other personal items.

I am thankful that I had a car, clothes on my back, and possessions to call my own.

I left the house I had lived in for seven months.

I am thankful that my parents gave me a place to stay.

 I left the man I had been married to for seven years.

I am thankful for the happy memories from those seven years.

I left a note with my apologies, knowing we would both be sorrier if I stayed.

I am thankful that I knew when to leave.

I left behind friends and the only way of life I had known. While it was a painful decision that completely altered both of our lives, I do not regret it.

I am thankful I had the opportunity to reinvent myself.

I left my old life for a new one. I hope that, seven years later, we are both feeling thankful for the ways our lives have changed since I left.

I am thankful for the life I now share with my husband and son.

I left behind plans and expectations in exchange for new ones. Of course, my life did not always follow the new route I intended.

I am thankful for the unexpected.

One thought on “Thanks x 7

What do you have to say about that?

