Duérmete mi niño

Philip is sick. 😦

I noticed the sniffles last week, but I crossed my fingers and hoped they could be explained as the result of a quick walk outside or first-thing-in-the-morning drainage. Unfortunately, sneezing soon joined the party followed by an occasional cough.

Even though he is sick, he has not reached the miserable stage yet. And we hope he doesn’t. There are only two days of preschool this week, but we are keeping him home tomorrow and possibly Tuesday in the hopes of preventing a full-blown sinus infection and to be polite and not share his germs with his classmates or the staff.

I wouldn’t worry so much if Philip were willing to take over-the-counter cough syrups. Or drink warm apple. Or swallow some honey. These were all of the cough treatments suggested by the pediatrician when he was sick in September and October. But he refuses all of them.

As you can imagine, I was concerned about how Philip would sleep last night. I’m thankful that he maintained his new bed time despite his cold. His coughing did wake him up a few times, but I am thankful that he was able to fall back asleep quickly. I was amazed that he woke up at his regular time without prompting, too.

I hope that Philip sleeps well tonight, too. Last night wasn’t perfect, but it went much better than I expected.

2 thoughts on “Duérmete mi niño

  1. Colds are the worst here! I wish my son would take honey, but it makes him gag. *sigh* It’s always something, isn’t it? I would try the warm apple juice again. That seems to help a bit for my boys–when I can get them to drink it.

    I hope Philip feels better soon!!!

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

