Being thankful even when I don’t feel like it

Yesterday during my lunch break, I was on the phone receiving some bad news. The conversation kept cutting out because I had another incoming call. The other phoner had different bad news.

It was one of those days.

Things didn’t magically improve overnight, but I don’t want to focus on the negative. I have to accept the challenges that each phone call brought to my attention, but I don’t want to spend my writing time dwelling on those things. Instead, I’m going to keep with my theme of thankfulness. Hopefully, by focusing on those things I have to be thankful for, it will be easier to deal with these problems.

I never really took the time to write about last Thursday’s parent-teacher conference. In fact, we’ve been getting messages on Philip’s daily notes from preschool that I haven’t taken the time to share either. Today, I am thankful for these successes.

November 6: Philip tried Jello Jigglers and love them more than cookies! Our picky eater is gradually trying new foods.

November 8: In the art center, Philip made a necklace. The note read, “He made it-not a teacher 🙂 He worked for 10 minutes!”

From the November 12 newsletter:

Philip feeding a baby

This is not the most flattering picture of Philip, but I had to share it anyway. When Philip went for his play-based assessment before enrolling in the preschool, he was scared of the baby dolls. Eventually, he would interact with them, but only to line them up. Look at him now!

November 14: Philip played with the bakery set in the housekeeping center. According to the note he “Put the cake together and snapped on the frosting.” This is the child whose limited functional play a year ago was just one more basis for his autism diagnosis.

November 15: At the messy table, he washed a baby doll. The note read “This was the first day he did this. At first, he just wanted to splash or put the wash cloth in his mouth. Later, he did wash the baby.”

The first thing I want to point out is that, last year, Philip was given limited time at the messy table since he usually ended up throwing whatever was in it. His teacher reported during our conference that he can now spend some unsupervised time getting sensory input at the messy table.

My second observation of this note is that the splashing of water and mouthing of the wash cloth are typical behaviors during Philip’s bath times. The way I look at it, even though he wasn’t washing the baby the way he was supposed to at first, he was actually being consistent with how he experiences bath time. Of course, now I’m thinking I need to get a baby doll for the bath tub so that Philip can learn to wash himself by first washing the toy.

Having written about these activities has already made me feel better. That’s something to be thankful for, too.

2 thoughts on “Being thankful even when I don’t feel like it

What do you have to say about that?

