Only time will tell

I’ve been pinning my hopes on today: the end of Daylight Savings Time. “I only have to make it  a couple more weeks,” I insisted to my husband. “Once we fall back, things will be easier.”

daylight savings photo: maxine daylight savings daylightsavingschange-maxine_zps37f4973b.jpg

When Philip was sick for over a month, it really messed up his sleep schedule. He often woke in the middle of the night due to congestion and coughing. Then his overall routine was disrupted by missing several days of school. By the time he got healthy, he was in a new habit of going to bed at midnight. While this was an improvement from the days that he used to be up until 1:00, 2:00 and even 3:00 am, it just doesn’t work for us. I’m up late with him and struggle to get myself up in the morning. Then I have to try to wake up Philip. There’s not enough time to do all of the things I’d like to do with Philip before I leave for work.

However, I anticipated that all my problems would be solved today. Instead of trying to adjust Philip’s sleep and waking times, all I would need to do is change the clocks.

Yesterday, I got a glimpse of the wonderful new world that awaited. I slept in until 8:00 am. I thought to myself, “By tomorrow, this would have only been 7:00 am.”  Of course, 7:00 am is actually too late for a work/school day, but Philip had awoken at 4:00 am. After taking him downstairs for some milk and tv, he fell back asleep on the couch. It was 5:00 am when I roused from my own slumber in the recliner, covered Philip with a blanket and went back to bed. That’s why I treated myself to a lie-in.

I was a bit worried since it’s a vicious cycle. If I permit myself to sleep in, then Philip is probably asleep, too. If he sleeps in then he will take a late nap. If he takes a late nap, he will then stay up later than usual. Then he will want to sleep in the next day. It’s like If You Give a Mouse a Cookie except with sleep or the lack thereof.

But the day was progressing well. I felt energized for a three-mile walk with the dog. Philip and I had a great trip to the library. After lunch and some time in the backyard, Philip took a nap. By my calculations, the nap was at just the right point of the afternoon when I compared to time it would be tomorrow.

Things were looking good. I didn’t take a nap myself since I was feeling so awake. I was so confident in how well things were going to go that I changed all of our clocks to back to standard time when Philip got up from his nap. He didn’t go to bed as early as I hoped, but it was good enough for “falling back.”

I didn’t expect to be awake for the return of Eastern Standard Time.

Despite the great day, something woke Philip up around 2:30 am. Standard Time. He stayed awake until almost 5:00 am. I fell back asleep then, too and didn’t pry my eyes open until close to 8:00 am.

It didn’t feel as nice this morning.

I had put too much faith in the time change. I seemed to forget that something always comes up. I had expected to write today’s gratitude post as an homage to the end of Daylight Savings Time.

Forget that.

I tried to plan ahead, but learned that gratitude is not something one can schedule. Instead, one must look for it in the moment and wait to experience it.

So, if I’m not singing the praises of Standard Time, what am I thankful for?

Today, in spite of the rough night, I am thankful that Philip still took a nap. I’m thankful that this happened on the weekend, when I could take a nap, too.

I’m thankful that Philip is falling asleep as I type this. He’s not going to sleep as early as I had hoped, but we’ll both be in bed before midnight.

Will he sleep through the night?

Only time will tell.

7 thoughts on “Only time will tell

  1. “I tried to plan ahead, but learned that gratitude is not something one can schedule. Instead, one must look for it in the moment and wait to experience it.” yes, yes, YES. ::Hugs::

    Like

  2. *hugs* sleep deprivation sucks. I used to go nuts listening to other moms sit and chat about how well their child slept at night…all through the night. My daughter has taught me that yes….there are children that can do that but my son has taught me that sleeping is hard. Anxiety is hard and he can’t turn it all off. We used to have to lay with him to get him to settle but now we don’t. Does he wake up 2 or 3x? Yes….some days but usually only once now. Is he outgrowing it? Maybe. Does he have worse days because of anxiety because of the day before? Probably.

    We are trying some things so here is what we do. Low lighting in his room so he’s not afraid but no big lights. At bedtime all lights in house are turned down low 30 min before the routine begins. No tv before bed. Drinks are limited too. The big one we are trying is MELOTONIN. Our paediatrician started our son on it beginning with small does…ratcheting it up slowly. She said it is thought that some children especially ones with ADHD or Autism don’t produce melotonin at the right time of day for natural sleep to happen. So the are sleepy in the daytime and wake up a lot at night. So the trick is to add melotonin before bedtime to help trigger the body naturally to start producing correctly. She also said to watch his diet because stomach issues can lead to frequent wake ups….they won’t be sick but the anxiety of all this tummy hard work digesting can trigger wake ups. I would say the melotonin is definitely helping him be more regulated.

    Also…does Phillip like deep pressure? There are some things that can be done in his bed too.

    Good luck on this sleep journey and know you are not alone.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the suggestions. We haven’t tried melatonin. Actually, he had been doing quite well with some of the same strategies you mentioned: dimmed lights plus deep pressure and head inversion. The no TV thing backfires. He reminds me of my grandma. She couldn’t sleep without the white noise of the tv. When I tried to eliminate the tv it took him longer to calm down than if I leave it on.

      Like

What do you have to say about that?

