Thank goodness it’s November 1!

Today is November 1. For that, I’m thankful. It’s the first day of the month. The slate is clean. It’s the perfect time to start something new.

When the clock strikes midnight and it becomes November 2, I’ll be thankful for that, too. In fact, it is my plan to be thankful each and every day this month. When it becomes December, I don’t plan on turning into an ingrate, but I’m making gratitude a focus this month. I’ll do this by writing a blog post every day about something for which I am thankful. Since Thanksgiving is celebrated in November in the US, it seems a fitting time.

NaBloPoMo November 2012

As luck would have it, I can also jump on the NaBloPoMo wagon. What’s that? you might ask. It is shorthand for National Blog Posting Month. Last year, I foolishly signed up for the novel-writing equalivent, NaNoWriMo. Foolish since I remember hyperventilating in high school when given the assignment to write a short story. Fiction is not my strong suit. Plus, where did I think I was going to find the time to write 50,000 words?

Instead of crafting the next great American novel, I’ll blog every day. I’m joining my fellow writers at yeah write in this endeavor.

While I’m feeling ambitious, since it doesn’t involve fiction and because I made it one of my tasks on my “101 Things in 1001 Days” list, I’m also going to write a thank you note to a different person each day this month. I composed a list of people to thank over the past view months so that I wouldn’t find myself in a panic by the time Thanksgiving gets here.

So, thank goodness it’s November 1! It’s the day after Halloween which means cheap candy and reduced price on seasonal clothing. Hurray! It’s Thursday which means only two more days of work for the week! Sure, it’s 3:30 am on November 1. I certainly didn’t expect to be awake and writing at this time, but Philip had other plans. But I’m not going to complain since he didn’t wake up unable to breathe through snot or on the verge of vomiting. I think he may finally be over that sinus infection, for which I am grateful. Plus, I can be thankful that today’s post will be completed early, allowing me time for other tasks.

For those of you who get a chance to read my posts, I hope you are inspired to take a moment and be thankful. Be thankful for the big things, be thankful for the small things. If it’s not too personal, I hope you’ll share your bit of gratitude in the comments.

***UPDATE***
One of the other bloggers participating in NaBloPoMo is offering a link-up called “Thankful Thursdays.” I’m linking with her since it’s in keeping with my theme for the month.

25 thoughts on “Thank goodness it’s November 1!

  1. Every night in bed, as I begin to fall asleep, I think about what I am grateful for from the day. It is a wonderful way to end the day. And on the not-so-good days I still do this, because it’s even more important to remember the good stuff!

    Like

  2. Before going to bed, sometimes my wife asks me to name three good things that happened during the day.

    This is an interesting challenge, I’m not sure if I could do it myself!

    Like

  3. What a great idea with the thank-you notes! I am the worst with those and have so many on my list of “owed” that the idea of writing ones just because sounds amazing! Since it’s thanksgiving month, even a better idea. I like it! I’m also doing NaBloPoMo and found you via Yeah Write!

    Like

    1. I know what you mean. There gets the point where so much time has passed that I’m too embarrassed to send the note. My mother raised me right, and I ALWAYS wrote thank you notes as a kid. I want to get back in the habit.
      I look forward to reading your NaBloPoMo contributions.

      Like

  4. I’ve been tempted to do NaNoWriMo, but I’m glad I haven’t for the reasons you mentioned. Thanks for confirming my suspicions. I’m a much better non-fiction writer and I don’t have a book in me just bursting to get out. Plus I’ve already given up all my sleep to an infant and a toddler, so there’s nowhere else to cut to make time to write at that level. Blogging it is!

    Like

  5. I think November is becoming my favorite internet month ever — so many gratitude posts and NaBloPoMo all rolled into one! A blogger’s dream!

    I’ve been getting some not-so-subtle suggestions that I turn my Thirteen/Ten flash fiction into a novel, but I honestly had no idea what I was going to write when I sat down and started those. I don’t think I could do that for a whole novel, LOL!

    Like

What do you have to say about that?

