Fill in the Blank Friday

I’m trying something new today. A few weeks ago I noticed a blog labeled “Fill in the Blank Friday.” I decided to Google the term and found the little things we do.  The author of this blog either creates a list of writing prompts herself or, as happened today, she asks another blogger to generate them.

Here are my responses:

1.  I started my blog because   I thought I would be able to take one picture of my son every day in order to document his growth over time. I planned it as a way to make sure I gave my son a variety of experiences in order to produce a variety of photos. It was also a way to share these photos with family far away.

2.   One thing I love seeing on other blogs   is evidence that the written word is not dead. I love the diverse voices on the internet. I appreciate the care with which many bloggers craft their posts, and I’m inspired to write better.

3.  Something I love about blogging   is having a way to process my thoughts and feels and to capture moments that I might otherwise forget.

4. A favorite blog post of mine is probably this recent one since it illustrates why I like to blog. Taking the time to write about visiting my son’s preschool was a chance to reflect on what I observed, document the day and then share it with family and friends. Plus, going back to the posts and looking at the pictures makes me smile.

5. Something my friends in real life know about me that I’ve never before mentioned on my blog is that I always said that I probably wouldn’t have children. Surprise!

6.  My new favorite blogs to read are related to Autism Spectrum Disorder. I’ve always tried to keep up with the blogs of real-life friends, but not I’m also following Marley, stop . . ., Flappiness Is, Outrunning the Storm, It’s a Wunderful Life and a few others. If I could remember/figure out how to update my blogroll, I’d add them there. When I need a laugh, I cruise on over to The Bloggess. Most of these aren’t new except to me.

7.  Some things I tend to avoid doing on my blog is sharing too much, especially things related to my spouse or other family/friends. It’s my choice to blog my thoughts and feelings, not theirs.  

***

Enough about that. Here’s a picture of Philip, courtesy of his preschool teacher via her weekly newsletter. It shows Philip sorting dinosaurs, something I didn’t get to take a picture of while I was at the school on Monday.

Philip obviously liked this basket activity in which he sorts dinosaurs by color because this picture was taken later in the week.

What do you have to say about that?

