Then & Now: Sunday Supper

It was a Tuesday. Today is Sunday. Back then I was living in Albuquerque. Now I reside in Ashland. On that morning, I was getting ready for my job as a teacher in a public school system. Now my occupation is as a secretary at a private college. Then I was childless with a different spouse. Now I am wife of Peter, mother of Philip.

A lot has changed in ten years. I would assert that none of these changes in my life came about due to the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001. While it would be naive to say my life was completely unaffected, it would also be disingenuous to say it was profoundly altered by those tragic events.

So, this isn’t a post about 9/11. My blog is about my son. It’s not in honor of those who lost their lives. lovers, friends or family, but it is written with respect to them.

In today’s picture, Grandma watches as Philip colors after supper. Now that we live in the same city as my parents’, we have a new tradition of going to their house almost every Sunday for supper. I’m thankful that I am able to spend this time with them, unlike a decade before when I lived two days’ drive away and saw my family only once or twice a year. I hope that I never take this time with them for granted, and I hope to instill that same value for family in Philip.

 

What do you have to say about that?

