His cup runneth over: Father’s Day 2011

Yet again a holiday has come and gone without any photographs pertinent to the celebration. Yesterday was Father’s Day, and I didn’t take a single picture of any fathers. I missed my dad sharing his ice cream cake with Philip (and the blue lips that resulted). No pictures of Peter playing with Philip in my parents’ backyard or sharing M & M’s. No shots of my brother with his daughters. I only got my camera out once the entire day, and that was to capture Philip thoroughly examining a cup that my mom bought for him. As you can see in the photo, it is clear plastic. It has monkeys on the outside and a liquid filling with sparkles and tiny bananas. Philip kept tipping the cup up trying to get the liquid out. He held it close to peer at the bananas as they moved through the liquid. He was chewing on the edge, so my mom thought maybe he was thirsty. I decided to put some water in the cup for him to drink. He took a sip, paused and then proceeded to dump the rest of the water on his shirt. That was why I put water and not juice in the cup.

Well, this picture isn’t actually from Father’s Day. I took it last weekend while my camera cord was MIA and the sun was shining. I hope all Dads out there had a great day.

What do you have to say about that?

