I’m sailing away

Okay, I’m not really sailing away. However, Philip did built a boat this morning at the Home Depot Kids Workshop.

I never know what to expect from Philip when we go to these workshops. Today, he was eager to help out, wanting to push the pieces together once they were glued, staying focused when we nailed the parts of the ship and helping to push in the dowel rods that became the sails. One thing that is never a surprise is how much he enjoys painting his project.

home depot 003

Once we got home and the paint dried, I put on the boat’s paper sails. Here’s the finished project.

Come sail away, come sail away, come sail away with me

Come sail away, come sail away, come sail away with me

Update: Philip is currently “sailing” his boat down the staircase banister. Hopefully the newel post won’t be the iceberg that cracks up his Titanic.

Update #2: And we’ve lost a sail thanks to a tumble from the banister. Glad I got those photos earlier.

Update #3: And now the other mast broke. We officially have a barge.

It’s Day 2 of NaBloPoMo. Tomorrow I’ll be a guest blogger at Yeah Write. Check back on Sunday for a link to my post.

13 thoughts on “I’m sailing away

    • I put the plane that he made last month at Home Depot on top of the barge and declared it an aircraft carrier.
      Philip doesn’t care: the barge still “sails” down the banister just fine.

I'm not a mind reader . . . yet. Until then, share your thoughts below.

